Cricket for Cubs holds tournament to welcome the spring

Eighth Tri-Valley Inter-School Cricket Tournament hosts 200 student-athletes

More than 200 young athletes from across the Tri-Valley gathered at five different locations in Dublin, Pleasanton and San Ramon this month, to participate in Cricket for Cubs eighth Tri-Valley Inter-School Cricket Tournament.

Fourteen teams from throughout the region competed in the tournament, of which eight were from elementary schools, four were from middle school and two teams were made up of high school students.

"Cricket for Cubs is giving kids an opportunity to experience cricket as well teaching them the meaning of teamwork," said Shuaib Hasan Khwaja, team manager of the Alisal Elementary Cricket Club. "As first-timers in the tournament, I can see that kids are communicating with each other effectively to achieve their goal. With time, they will learn a life lesson of working together as a team,"

In the elementary school division, Dublin’s John Green Elementary defeated their crosstown rivals at Dougherty Elementary in a competitive final match. Representing San Ramon, Iron Horse Middle School won its division, defeating Dublin’s Fallon Middle School. Dougherty Valley High School took its division trophy back home to San Ramon after defeating Dublin High School.

Individual winners from each age grouping were recognized at a special awards ceremony that was attended by a multitude of community members and public officials including Dublin Mayor David Haubert, Dublin City Councilwoman Jean Josey, San Ramon Valley Unified School District Trustee Susanna Ordway, and Cricket for Cubs president Ramesh Immadi.

Winners by age grouping include:

Winners for Elementary school division: Best Fielder, Anay Sharma; Best Wicket Keeper, Ranbir Panech; Best Batsman, Varish Doma; Best Bowler, Zafir Kasim; MVP, Akhil Venkatesh

Winners for Middle School Division: Best Fielder, Shravan Ramanand; Best Wicket Keeper, Aadi Jawargi; Best Batsman, Shreyas Putanae; Best Bowler, Prabhav Doma; MVP, Nirav Rawal.

Winners for High School Division: Best Fielder, Rohan Gulhar; Best Wicket Keeper, Jitra Shah; Best Batsman, Skanda Rohit Sharma; Best Bowler, Srivatsan Srikanth; MVP, Rishab Jayaram.

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

Couples Counseling, Al Pacino Style
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,463 views

Talking traffic with Mike Tassano
By | 4 comments | 846 views

After falling at airport, Chris Miller finds stepping back from civic duties a tough start
By Jeb Bing | 0 comments | 74 views