New Pleasanton school board members take oath of office

Bowser, Laursen succeed veteran members Kernan, Ott, who stepped down

Newly-elected Pleasanton school board members Jeff Bowser and Joan Laursen were sworn in as official trustees in the district Tuesday by State Sen. Ellen Corbett (D-10th).

Also at the meeting, the board elected a Valerie Arkin as its new president, succeeding Chris Grant, who remains on the board with two years remaining in his current term of office.

The board also elected Jamie Hintzke as Clerk, a position that often positions the board member next in line to become president.

Before signing out as members, Kernan and Ott joined the others in handing out awards to students and congratulating teachers.


Like this comment
Posted by Good News
a resident of Apperson Ridge
on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:08 am

Good for them. I wanted Sandy on the board but Bowser and Laursen will do a good job. Run in 2012 Sandy!

Like this comment
Posted by Fred T
a resident of Another Pleasanton neighborhood
on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:10 am

Thank you Joan and Jeff for your public service to Pleasanton Schools. I know that difficult times are ahead and I know that we are in good hands.

Like this comment
Posted by Steve B
a resident of Carlton Oaks
on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

Jeff and Joan have a lot of experience and will bring a fresh look to our school board with our new superintendent. Don't forget to listen to the community!

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Couples: Philosophy of Love
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,399 views

Narum, Woerner win big in Pleasanton and Livermore
By Tim Hunt | 0 comments | 808 views

Keeping Our Brothers, on Thanksgiving
By Tom Cushing | 8 comments | 420 views