Cellists to hold matinee performance today to honor Larry Granger

Known as 'Mr. Cello,' Granger died in 2009

Pleasanton's newly-opened Firehouse Arts Center will host A Ceremony of Cellos in memory of Larry Granger at 3 p.m. today.

The matinee performance will take place at the Firehouse, 4444 Railroad Ave.

Dan Reiter, principal cello of the Oakland East Bay Symphony, will lead an assemblage of prominent Bay Area cellists in a soulful exploration of the instrument's expressive powers in memory of celebrated cellist, Larry Granger.

Larry Granger grew up in Pleasanton and became known as the "Mr. Cello" of the Livermore-Amador Valley. He played with the Oakland and San Francisco Symphonies and taught cello at Cal State University, East Bay.

Granger soloed with a number of community orchestras and ensembles, including Pleasanton Chamber Players and Livermore-Amador Symphony. At the time of his death in June of 2009, he was scheduled to perform with the Silicon Valley Symphony.

Performing along with Dan Reiter will be cellists Gay Hagen Dunn of Pleasanton and Peter Bedrossian of Livermore; Paul Hale, Paul Rhodes, and Elizabeth Vandervennet of the Oakland East Bay Symphony and Russian cellist (by way of Sweden) Tamara Bohlin.

Soprano soloist Alison Collins will perform in Bachianas Brasileiras. Pianist Priscilla Carter Granger will accompany Popper's Requiem and John Kendall Bailey, a well-known Bay Area conductor, will direct the two octets.

The cellists will perform music by William Byrd, Gesualdo da Venosa, David Popper, Emanuel Moor, Bach, Vivaldi and Stravinsky. The program includes:

Tregian's Ground, arr. D. Reiter; William Byrd (1543-1623) from the Fitzwilliam Virginal BookRequiem; David Popper (1843-1913)Concerto Grosso in d minor, arr. Lazlo Varga; Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)Moro, lasso, al mio duolo, arr. D. Reiter; Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (1560- 1613) Prelude and Fugue no. 4 in C sharp minor, arr. D. Reiter; J. S. Bach (1685-1750) from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book IWilliam Tell the truth Overture - arr. D. Reiter (2010)Suite for Four Cellos, op. 95; Emanuel Moór (1863-1931) Andante sostenuto – Molto Allegro – Adagio – Allegro con brioMinuetto and Finale from Pulcinella, arr. D. Reiter; Igor Stravinsky (1882- 1970)Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5; Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959) for Soprano and Orchestra of Violoncelli Aria (Cantilena) - Dansa (Martelo).

Tickets are Adult-$16, $20 and $24; Child-$12 and Senior-$20. They may be purchased online at to three hours prior to the performance, by phone at (925) 931-4848, or in person at the Firehouse Arts Center Box Office.

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Couples: "When Good People Have Affairs" by Mira Kirshenbaum
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,827 views

Edifice Mex
By Tom Cushing | 91 comments | 1,485 views

One of Pleasanton's "characters" passes on
By Tim Hunt | 2 comments | 817 views