Livermore police to hold Town Hall meeting on law enforcement trends

Tuesday evening forum designed to let public discuss topics important in community

Livermore police will hold a town hall meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday to allow citizens to discuss topics they feel are important to them and the Police Department.

Police Chief Steve Sweeney, Captains Scott Trudeau and Steve Gallagher, and other members of the Police Department are scheduled to attend the meeting, which will be held at the Robert Livermore Community Center.

Sweeney will discuss current law enforcement trends in Livermore and then open the meeting to questions from the audience.

"The Livermore Police Department prides itself on being an open agency with our community members," Sweeney said in a statement.

"This Town Hall Meeting will allow us to directly interact with the people we serve, and I hope that we can have a great exchange of information and ideas," he said.

The meeting is being held with collaboration from the Police Department's Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association and the Livermore Area Recreation and Parks District.

Reservations are not required, but police can better plan for seating if attendees register for the event by calling the Recreation and Parks District at (925) 373-5700, and asking about class 2723.

The event is scheduled for 7 p.m. Tuesday at the community center located at 4444 East Ave.

Dan McMenamin, Bay City News

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Talking sports and life with Tommy Dyer
By Tim Hunt | 1 comment | 1,476 views

Couples: Thanks
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 475 views