Pleasanton Weekly

News - December 31, 2010

PTA Council announces winners of 8th annual arts program

More than 310 submitted entries

by Jeb Bing

The Pleasanton PTA Council has announced the winners of its eighth annual Reflections Arts Recognition Program.

The students will now advance to the next level of national art competitions, according to Diane VanWagner of the PTA Council.

Pleasanton students from kindergarten through 12th grade entered their work in six categories: photography, visual arts, literature, musical composition, dance choreography, and film/video production.

A total of 310 young artists from eight Pleasanton schools submitted entries for this year's program to their local PTA or PTSA sponsored program.

From these entries, Reflections Committees at each school identified students in each category and age level to represent their school at the council level.

More than 60 entries were submitted to the Pleasanton PTA Council for recognition and were showcased at the Firehouse Arts Center. These students were awarded certificates by Parvin Ahmadi, Pleasanton Unified School District Superintendent, and Jodie Vashistha, Pleasanton PTA Council President. Also attending the recognition ceremony were school board members Joan Laursen and Valerie Arkin, and Amador Valley High School Principal Jim Hansen.

"The Pleasanton PTA Council was extremely happy to be have been able to hold our annual Reflections Arts Recognition Program at the Firehouse Arts Center this year," said Jodie Vashistha, Pleasanton PTA Council President.

"The Firehouse Arts Center is perfect for live performances so for the first time in our history, we were able to have a select number of students present their entries to our audience," she said.

Vashistha added: "Our live presentations included Saloni Wasnik, a dancer from Fairlands Elementary, Brendan Hwang, a violinist Hearst Elementary, Esther Forest, a film maker from Walnut Grove, and Sandhya Kalavacherla, from Harvest Park Middle School who read her literature entry."

The advancing entries are:


Rylee Galletti, 2nd GR, Hearst

Zara Fatteh, 4th GR, Hearst

Varsha Ramakrishnan, 7th GR,HPMS

Hayden Mitchell, 11th GR, AVHS


Sudiksha Gudipati, 1st GR, Vintage Hills

Stacy Simanuki, 5th GR, Alisal

Sandhya Kalavacherla, 6th GR, HPMS

Da Eun Kim, 10th GR, AVHS

Visual Arts:

Mahika Sharma, Kindergarten, Fairlands

Sophia Kang 4th GR, Mohr

Lucille Bell, 7th GR, - HPMS

Linyan Tian 10th GR, AVHS

Musical Composition:

Hannah Jang, 1st GR, Hearst

Brendan Hwang, 4th GR, Hearst

Logan Kane, 9th GR, AVHS

Film/Video Production:

Amala Rao, 2nd GR, Hearst

Esther Forest, 3rd GR, WG

Varsha Ramakrishnan, 7th GR, HPMS

Dance Choreography:

Mahika Shamra, Kindergarten, Fairlands

Saloni Wasnik, 5th GR, Fairlands

The National PTA Reflections Program is an arts recognition and achievement program for students. It provides opportunities for students to express themselves creatively and to receive positive recognition for original works of art inspired by this year's theme, "Together We Can…"


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: *

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields